ISSS Congresses

ISSS Research Meetings

The Ski Trauma and Ski Safety Congresses held by the ISSS every two years have brought together a wide variety of individuals interested in all aspects of skiing safety.

Our 23rd meeting will be at Squaw Valley Ski Resort, California, USA from 7-13 April 2019. Please visit for more information.

Presentations focus on a multitude of subjects concerning snow sports safety, including the means to reduce the risk of injury, improve various aspects of the sports, and treat injuries.  Initially the prime subjects of interest revolved around snow skiing including alpine skiing and the many variations of cross-country skiing. In the last 15 years or so, with the development of other sports such as snowboarding, freestyle skiing, skiboarding, and other hybrid activities, the interests of the Society have widened considerably.

Attendees have included representatives of the skiing industry such as binding, boot, and ski manufacturers; engineers from industry, universities, and technical institutions; skiing professionals such as ski instructors and patrollers; ski area physicians; lawyers; ski area managers; and participants in recreational and professional skiing and riding activities.  Interchange of ideas, comments, and critiques are encouraged during formal discussion of the papers.  Many of the individuals who attend these meetings are involved in the American Society of Testing and Materials (ASTM) standards process or those of other national and international standards organizations such as the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) as well as members of the International Society of Skiing Safety.


The full list of ISSS meetings held since 1974 is as follows:

Riksgräsen, Sweden hosted by Ejnar Eriksson, MD – 1974
Sierra Nevada, Spain hosted by José M. Figueras, MD – 1977
Queenstown, New Zealand hosted by Michael Lamont, MNZSP – 1979
Boronio, Italy hosted by Max Magi, MD – 1981
Keystone, Colorado, USA hosted by C.D. Mote, PhD and RJ Johnson, MD – 1983
Naiba, Japan hosted by Koreo Kinosita, D.Sc and Kenichi Yahashi, MD – 1985
Chamonix, France hosted by M-H. Binet, MD – 1987
Riksgräsen, Sweden hosted by Ejnar Eriksson, MD – 1989
Thredbo, Australia  hosted by John Zelcer, MD – 1991
Kaprun, Austria hosted by Peter Schaff, MD and Wolfhort Hauser, MD – 1993
Voss, Norway hosted by Arne Ekeland, MD – 1995
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada hosted by RJ Johnson, MD and R. Cadman, PhD – 1997
Breuil Cervinia, Italy hosted by Paolo Zucco, MD – 1999
Queenstown, New Zealand hosted by Michael Lamont, MNZSP – 2001
Pontresina, Switzerland hosted by Greog Ahlbäumer, MD – 2003
Arai, Japan hosted by Tsuneo Yamagishi, MD – 2005
Aviemore, Scotland hosted by Michael Langran, MD – 2007
Garmisch-Partenkirschen, Germany hosted by Veit Senner, PhD – 2009
Keystone, Colorado, USA hosted by Rick Greenwald, PhD and Irving Scher, PhD, PE – 2011
Bariloche, Argentina hosted by Cali Martinez and Guillermo Estevez – 2013 (held jointly with SITEMSH)
St Vito di Cadore, Italy. Hosted by Nicola Petrone, PhD – 2015
Innsbruck, Austria. Hosted by Werner Nachbauer, PhD – 2017
Lake Tahoe, California, USA. Hosted by Irving Scher PhD, PE and Rick Greenwald, PhD – 2019